they wont listen to me

A turkey hunting forum for hunting sketchy turkeys in the spring and the fall.

Moderators: iowawalleye, iceman77

they wont listen to me

Postby durky870 » Fri May 08, 2009 10:48 pm

I am kinda new to turkey hunting but like anything outdoors i'm hooked. the problem i am having is i am not see many birds and i cant get a bird to answer me. my hunt started monday and ive been hunting hard. the one farm my father and i are hunting we have been seeing hens but no jakes or toms. another farm i got permission to hunt has little sign, a few tracks and some scratch marks in the field but other then that not much of anything. i have looked thru stands of trees for droppings on the ground from roosting bird but nothing. i know that the late season can be like the oct. lull like bow hunting (slow). what kind of calling should i use? ive read that this time is when most of the hens are on the nest and the toms are just quiet. should i use hen calls or tom calls? i got a gobble call but that is the only male call i got. do they make tom mouth calls or are they all the same thing? any info would be great. thanks Josh
Joshua Durecki
durky870

Advertisement

IceFishingChat.com

sunset

Postby fishman31 » Sat May 09, 2009 1:41 pm